Maintain your PMI® Certification (PDUs)

You've worked hard to earn your Project Management Institute (PMI)® certification. In order to maintain it you must earn a minimum number of PDUs every 3 year cycle. Your 3-year certification cycle starts on the day you pass your exam.

  • Earn PDUs by attending our courses

    As a Registered Education Provider (R.E.P), Professional Development can award PDUs that you can allocate against your PMI® certification.
  • Aligned to the PMI Talent Triangle®

    All our courses are aligned to the PMI CCR (Continuing Certification Requirements) Program.
PMI Talent Triangle

Courses Eligible for PDUs

Lean Six Sigma

Course Title PDUs PMP ACP PgMP
QQI Lean Six Sigma Green Belt 42    
IASSC Lean Six Sigma Black Belt 126  

Management and Leadership

Course Title PDUs PMP ACP PgMP
QQI Managing People 21    
Management Skills 14    
Get Project Management articles, tips & offers
The PMI TALENT TRIANGLE and the PMI Talent Triangle logo are marks of Project Management Institute, Inc.

PDUs Explained

Everyone who earns a PMI® Certification (with the exception of the CAPM®) must actively maintain their certification(s) through participation in the CCR Program in order to renew their certification every 3 years.

PDUs or Professional Development Units are a measuring unit used by the PMI® to quantify the amount of approved learning and professional service activities undertaken by a PMI credential holder within a given period (nominally the 3 year certification cycle). Each 1 hour of professional development activity is equivalent to 1 PDU and can be earned by attending any of our eligible courses.

All our eligible courses are aligned to the PMI Talent Triangle®.

The allocation of PDUs is completed through your PMI® account via the CCR dashboard. We can walk you through how to do this step by step.

Download Your CCR Handbook

How many PDUs do I need?

The number of PDUs required depends on your PMI® Certification, but they must be earned every three years. Your three year cycle begins on the day you pass your PMI® exam.

Minimum PDUs Required
(in each 3 year cycle)
Project Management Professional (PMP)® PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)® Program Management Professional (PgMP)®
Total PDUs 60 30 60
Education PDUs 35 18 35

In addition to the overall minimum number of PDUs required you must also earn a minimum number of PDUs in Education and Training activities ("Education PDUs").

You can earn Education PDUs by attending any of our eligible training courses.

You must also earn a minimum number of PDUs within each of the skill areas of the PMI Talent Triangle® - Technical, Leadership, and Strategic and Business Management.

What is the PMI Talent Triangle®?

In addition to the requirement to earn PDUs, the PMI also require credential holders to earn PDUs through education and training courses ("Education PDUs") in three key employer-demanded skills areas.

  • Technical Project Management - the skills competencies and behaviours to perform a job in the areas of project management.
  • Leadership - the ability to articulate a vision and to guide or influence others
  • Strategic and Business Management - the skills encompasing an overall understanding of business context and the ability to "join the dots" between a persons work and the larger organisational stategy in order to drive favourable project outcomes

These make up the PMI Talent Triangle® and is designed to ensure that PMI® credential holders remain relevant and competitive. A PMI credential holder must earn a minimum number of Education PDU's in each of the three components of the Talent Triangle.

Education PDUs - Minimum Talent Triangle Requirements
Certification Technical PDUs Required Leadership PDUs Required Strategic PDUs Required Remaining PDUs - across any area of Talent Triangle Total Minimum Required
PMP® 8 8 8 11 35
PgMP® 8 8 8 11 35
PMI-ACP® 4 4 4 6 18

Education PDUs can exceed these minimum amounts as there is no limit on the number of PDUs that can be earned in education.

As an R.E.P. all our PDU eligible courses are alligned to the PMI CCR (Continuing Certification Requirements) effective since December 2015.

Why Choose us?


Professional Development is a Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.) with the Project Management Institute (PMI)®.

When choosing to train with an R.E.P., you are choosing a project management training provider that has been reviewed and approved by the Project Management Institute (PMI)®.

By attending any of our eligible training courses you will earn PDUs which you can allocate against your certification.

Our trainers are themselves PMI® certification holders and have extensive experience as professional trainers. We believe in providing support and an approachable attitude to our delegates at all times.

Talk to us